EN | ES | FR | PT


‘A Date With History’ was an opportunity for young people from around the globe to inspire leaders and decision-makers to act boldly and urgently on key issues impacting the future of our planet. Launched Spring of 2012 by TckTckTck together with our partners at Climate Nexus and NRDC, we encouraged global youth ages 13 to 30 to upload video speeches telling the world about the “Future We Want.”

Through the votes of their peers online and a diverse jury of prominent celebrities, environmental activists and thought leaders, one inspiring young visionary was selected to attend the Rio Earth Summit and address the leaders assembled.


Nicolette Bartlett Senior Programme Manager, University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership http://www.cpsl.cam.ac.uk
Frances Beinecke President, Natural Resources Defense Council http://www.race2rio.org
Peter Boyd Chief Operational Officer, Carbon War Room http://www.carbonwarroom.com
Kristin N.Casper Legal Counsel Greenpeace International http://bit.ly/IOygse
Don Cheadle Actor & UNEP Goodwill Ambassador
Mallika Chopra CEO & Founder of Intent.com, Mom and Author http://www.intent.com
Michael Davidson US-China Climate Policy Coordinator, Natural Resources Defense Council http://www.race2rio.org
Leonardo DiCaprio Actor and Environmentalist http://leonardodicaprio.com/
Joanna Dafoe Co-Founder of the Canadian Youth Climate Coalition
Linh Do Editor, Speak Your Mind http://www.symnews.org
Linkin Park Musicians and Humanitarians http://www.musicforrelief.org/
Cameron Fenton National Director, Canadian Youth Climate Coalition http://www.ourclimate.ca
Christiana Figueres Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change http://unfccc.int
Jose-Maria Figueres President Carbon War Room, Former President of Costa Rica http://www.carbonwarroom.com
Heather Grady Vice President, The Rockefeller Foundation http://www.rockefellerfoundation.org
Adam Greenberg SustainUS http://sustainus.org
Aitana Uria Gutierrez Sustainability Program, at UNESCO Etxea – UNESCO Center Basque Country http://www.unescoetxea.org
Daryl Hannah Actor and Activist http://www.dhlovelife.com
Harpreet Johal Climate Change Campaigner, David Suzuki Foundation http://bit.ly/y77mr2
Joy Kennedy Program Coordinator, Poverty, Wealth and Ecological Justice, The United Church of Canada http://www.united-church.ca
Alejandro Litovsky Founder and Director, Earth Security Initiative http://www.earthsecurity.org
Sabá Loftus Organising Partner, UNCSD Major Group of Children and Youth http://uncsdchildrenyouth.org/
Munqeth Mehyar Chairman, Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East
Husni Mohamed British Council International Climate Champion/Global Changemaker http://mohamedhusni.wordpress.com
Sergio Marone Actor and Founder of Movimento Gota D´água http://on.fb.me/A686gk
Astrid Nicole Ng Research Assistant at the Association of American Geographers www.mycoe.org
Divine Ntiokam National Focal Point , UNICEF Rural Voices of Youth http://www.coeworld.org/news/wishes-and-visions-children-and-youth-2012
Jean Oelwang CEO, Virgin Unite www.virginunite.com
Hayden Panettiere Actor and Activist http://www.whaleman.org/
Reuben Sessa Youth and United Nations Global Alliance (YUNGA) Co-ordinator http://yunga-youth.weebly.com
Marina Silva Former Environment Minister of Brazil http://www.minhamarina.org.br/
Igeoma Simon Photographer & Activist
New Future Foundation, ECOSOC at the United Nations
Amy Smart Actor and Chair of EMA Young Hollywood Board http://www.ema-online.org
Hannah Smith Co-Director, UK Youth Climate Coalition http://ukycc.org
Severn Cullis-Suzuki
Joe Thwaites Power Shift Europe Network Support, UK Youth Climate Coalition http://ukycc.org
Pieter-Jan Van de Velde Executive Board Member, Rio+twenties and Board Member, Oxfam Belgium http://rioplustwenties.org/
Leonor Varela Actor, Humanitarian and Conservationist http://www.leonor-varela.com
Adam Vaughan Editor, environmentguardian.co.uk http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment
Timothy E. Wirth President, UN Foundation http://rioplussocial.com.br/en/
Nicolò Wojewoda Director, Road to Rio+20 http://roadtorioplus20.org
Dr. Kandeh K. Yumkella Director-General UN Industrial Development Organization and Co-chair, Secretary-General’s High Level Group on Sustainable Energy for All


Other participating organizations for the "Date with History" contest include: